Driving on a Suspended License
Judges do not look lightly on driving on a suspended license, which can lead to serious consequences in Levittown and surrounding areas in Pennsylvania. Your driving privileges can be suspended or revoked for various offenses, as well as criminal convictions. Regardless of the reason for the suspension, choosing to drive on a suspended license can result in a criminal charge and conviction. Experienced Bucks County criminal defense attorney John M. Kenney may be able to help you fight the charge.What Driving on a Suspended License Means
A prosecutor must prove that you were in actual physical control of a motor vehicle that you were operating on Pennsylvania roads. The prosecutor also must prove that your license was suspended, removed, or canceled, and that you were caught before your license was reinstated.
Pennsylvania has a system of points related to driving infractions. Under 75 Pa. Cons. Stat. §1539, when you accumulate 11 points or more on your driving record, your license will be suspended for a period of time. The length of the suspension is partially dependent on whether you have prior suspensions.
Your license may be revoked if you are found to be a habitual offender who commits serious traffic violations, drives while drunk, drives while your license is suspended, or causes certain accidents. It may also be suspended if you simply don't appear in court for a traffic violation when asked. It can also be revoked if you committed a felony while driving a vehicle, if you committed aggravated assault with your vehicle during a DUI, if you committed homicide by vehicle, or other similar reasons.
People whose licenses get suspended because of alcohol-related offenses, such as a DUI, may be charged with a summary offense and be penalized with a $500 fine and imprisonment for 60-90 days for driving on a suspended license. If your license is suspended for a DUI or other alcohol-related offense, and you are pulled over while driving on a suspended license with alcohol in your system, you may be fined $1,000 and imprisoned for at least 90 days.
After the period of suspension expires, you may have to pay a reinstatement fee and complete certain tasks to get your license reinstated. If you drive while your license is still suspended, you can be charged with a summary offense, but you can also be charged with a crime in some cases.
If you are charged a second time for driving with a suspended license, you can be charged with a third-degree misdemeanor rather than just a summary offense. If convicted, you can be fined up to $2,500 and imprisoned for at least six months. If you are charged a third time for driving with a suspended license, you can be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor, for which the penalties are a fine of up to $5,000 and up to two years of imprisonment. Any further driving on a suspended license can lead to further suspensions or revocations and even impounding of your vehicle under 75 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 6309.1(b).Consult a Bucks County Attorney About Driving on A Suspended License
Driving on a suspended license charges in Pennsylvania should be taken seriously. Experienced Levittown criminal defense lawyer John M. Kenney can provide sound advice if you are charged. He will work hard to find evidentiary or procedural issues in your case and will negotiate with the prosecution on your behalf. Contact Mr. Kenney at (215) 547-3031 or by completing our online form. We serve clients in Bristol, Morrisville, Fairless Hills, Yardley, and Langhorne, as well as throughout Bucks County.