Levittown DUI Attorney
Take the charge of DUI seriously from the start and call Levittown DUI defense attorney John M. Kenney for an immediate and free consultation. If you have been charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you need to hire a knowledgeable and experienced Levittown DUI lawyer to fight for your rights. Being convicted of DUI is a serious crime that carries severe punishment. Lawmakers have gone the extra mile to try and discourage people from driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol both in Pennsylvania and nationally.
Pennsylvania has a series of levels which serve as markers for a person's level of alcohol consumption and the penalties are graduated accordingly. Click here for a complete table of Pennsylvania DUI penalties.
The penalties for BAC between .08 - .099 are as follows:Penalties for DUI Conviction
If this is your first DUI conviction, there is no mandatory minimum jail time, however, you'll face a fine of $300. There is no suspension of your driver's license. If you refuse a breath or chemical test, you will be forced to place an ignition interlocking device on your vehicle.
￼￼For a second offense you'll face a one year license suspension, a mandatory minimum of 5 days in jail up to a maximum of 6 months, a $300-$2500 fine, and mandatory attendance at Alcohol Highway Safety School. An ignition interlock device placed on your motorvehicle for one year is required.
The charges for a third offense are elevated to a 2nd degree misdemeanor. Your driver's license will be suspended for one year and you will spend a minimum of 10 days in jail mandatory. Fines are increased also to $500-$2500. You will have an ignition interlock device placed on your motorvehicle for one year.
There is a 10-year statute of limitations on DUI convictions meaning that if your second DUI occurs 120 months and a day after your first conviction, it will be treated as a first conviction.
Under Pennsylvania's implied consent law, if you refuse to take a chemical/breath test you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension. Refusal to take the test for a 1st Offense carries 1-year license suspension, for a 2d offense, 18-month license suspension, and for a 3rd Offense, an 18-month license suspension.
Being arrested and charged with a DUI can be a life-altering event. Depending on your BAC and the number of prior offenses you have, you could be looking at serving serious jail time, disrupting your family, career, and relationships with family and friends. Call us now.